Scout Character Post

The person I am talking about is Scout. Scout is the narrator of the story. Scout, in the story, is a fighter. In the beginning of the book, fighting is her solution to everything. She fights with Walter Cunningham, beats up Dill, and was involved with many more fights. Atticus then tells her to stop fighting, and she disagrees. Then one day, the text states “drew a bead on him, remembered what Atticus had said, then dropped my fists and walked away, “Scout’s a cow- ward!” ringing in my ears. It was the first time I ever walked away from a fight.” This was where she finally had the courage to resist the temptation to fight.

43A13B95-857C-439E-B4F0-1A21C714786D.jpeg

Scout also is like a tomboy. She doesn’t like girlish stuff like dolls and dresses. Aunt Alexandra, on the other hand, doesn’t like this behavior. Scout doesn’t like being yelled at Jem. In the story, Jem states, “Stop acting like a girl!” Jem also doesn’t let Scout come to go to the Radley’s Place because she is a girl. Jem thinks that Scout, because she is a girl, would be scared. Scout is not like a regular girl maybe because she never had a mother to guide her like a female’s ways. She had only males in her family and no females, so she didn’t know how to act like one.

225D3003-4791-4D75-80F3-4A3D5A01240D.jpeg

In in the end of the story, Scout is a friend of Boo. Scout thought that Boo was a killer, through the rumors that she heard from Jem in the beginning of the story. After seeing Boo save them from Bob Ewell, she had a new perspective on Boo. She liked him and was thankful for Boo saving her life. Another time Boo was nice to Scout was when he placed a blanket to cover her. Instead of a monster that the rumors portray him as, he is now her neighbor. Near the end of the story, she states, “But I still looked for him each time I went by. Maybe someday we would see him. I imagined how it would be: when it happened, he’d just be sitting in the swing when I came along. “Hidy do, Mr. Arthur,” I would say, as if I had said it every afternoon of my life. “Evening, Jean Louise,” he would say, as if he had said it every afternoon of my life, “right pretty spell we’re having, isn’t it?” “Yes sir, right pretty,” I would say, and go on. It was only a fantasy.”

38A75D24-B47D-40FC-A01B-21B50BCC971A.jpeg

 

Tyler

Leave a comment